[VIDEOS] of March & May Televised County Commissioner Public Forums

Concerns regarding the Sex Ed Class were expressed by citizens to the Board of County Commissioners at two recent Public Forums which were televised and can be watched below:

March 7, 2017: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lYKniafcw64

May 2, 2017: https://youtu.be/Radyw85zJSk

County Commissioner Meetings:

WHERE? Address: Chesapeake Building at 41770 Baldridge Street in Leonardtown, MD 20650

WHEN? They usually take place on a Tuesday evening at 6:30 pm.

To find out when the next County Commissioner Public Forum meeting is: http://www.co.saint-marys.md.us/voluntr/BOCC.asp

All you need to do is show up and sign in. If you plan to speak, prepare something in writing ahead of time. You will have 3 minutes to present your concerns.


The Board of County Commissioner’s appoint the Library Board of Trustees, control over 50% of library funding and build their libraries!

Contrary to what they’ve been telling citizens & news outlets, they CAN & DO control much of the library:

“Local funding for public schools, libraries, and community colleges is determined by the county government… Counties also provide local funding for public schools, libraries, local community colleges, and the circuit courts.” http://dls.state.md.us/data/polanasubare/polanasubare_intmatnpubadm/polanasubare_intmatnpubadm_annrep/Structure-of-Maryland-Local-Government.pdf 

To see JUST how much, look at a page from the 2016 budget book below:

Pages from FY2016 Approved Budget Book – Searchable 8.19.15

Randy Guy is serving his first term as Commissioner President and can be reached at: 301-475-4200 ext. 1361 email: randy.guy@stmarysmd.com

Tom Jarboe is a first term member of the Commissioners of St. Mary’s County and represents District 1 (Ridge, Piney Point and St. George’s Island).

301-475-4200 ext. 1354   tom.jarboe@stmarysmd.com

Michael Hewitt is a first term member of the Commissioners of St. Mary’s County and represents District 2 (Hollywood-Leonardtown area).

301-475-1355 ext. 1355 email: mike.hewitt@stmarysmd.com

John O’Connor is also a first term member of the Commissioners of St. Mary’s County and represents District 3 (Charlotte Hall, Mechanicsville, Golden Beach, and the Seventh District)

301-475-4200 ext. 1353 email: john.oconnor@stmarysmd.com

Todd Morgan is serving his second term of the Commissioner’s of St. Mary’s County and represents District 4 (Great Mills, Lexington Park, area)

301-475-4200 ext. 1357 email: todd.morgan@stmarysmd.com

Leave a Reply